Veganism vs Reducetarianism

People who eat the Standard Western diet, but with reduced meat, are called Reducetarians. Yep, that’s a word apparently.

On the Pegan diet, there’s a notion around eating less meat than the standard Paleo diet too. I’m reading a lot of philosophical texts, and the overall sentiment is about “reducing harm”. They don’t advise to go all out to try to be as perfect as possible in everything, but rather, “do your best to reduce harm”. So I think eating less meat, kind of fits in that philosophy too.

Personally, I don’t believe that homo sapiens is the best it can be without at least some amount of animal protein. There has never being a human culture that was vegan in the past, and even more interestingly, no other ape was either. Apes that are considered “vegan”, actually are not. Their veggies and fruits are full of worms and insects. That’s how they get their B12 and other nutrients found only on animals. About 7%-10% of their diet is actually animal protein, depending on the species.

But today’s food does not come with worms. It comes sanitized. Which is why I believe that going fully vegan does not help the health in the *long run* (immediate benefits will indeed ensue, but not after a few years). So, either going vegetarian, or even pescetarian or reducetarian, makes sense in that case. If apes are teaching us something is that we need only a little bit of animal protein, not the obscene amounts we eat in the modern world.

By reducing beef, or by using pastured beef-only, you can reduce your carbon footprint by a lot. Lamb and goats are pastured most of the time, while if you can find pastured poultry, that would be best. Personally, I rather buy pastured chickens, but I can’t find any in my area, so I resort to free range (which is not really that good for either the chickens’ health, and consequently for ours). My eggs are pastured though.

For fish, I only buy wild. Wild shrimp too. For the rest of the small shellfish, it doesn’t matter much, so farmed is ok too (they’re like in the wild anyway, even if they’re called “farmed”).

What makes sense to me overall is this: eat some meat/fish only for dinner (mostly fish), and stay vegetarian (+bone broth, if required in soups) the rest of the day — except for Monday, where you go completely veg*n (serving as a tiny detox day).

I want to make a note here, and say that I respect Raw vegans way more than standard vegans. I don’t consider standard veganism, with its amazingly high usage of cereals and soy, healthy. Raw veganism instead, is actually Paleo: the kind of diet we had millions of years ago. Peganism/Paleo came much later, while standard veganism is akin only to Agricultural Revolution just 10,000 years ago, when we learned how to farm cereals, and got sicker from it (look it up, humans height and brain shrank compared to pre-agricultural times, and chronic diseases boomed).

So anyway, that’s where I stand on meat consumption. I need it (regardless of what vegans say), it’s just that I don’t have to overdo it, neither pick cheap sources that are add extra guilt in my conscience.

