Regarding Juicing

While on Paleo, I used to be against juicing due to being fiberless and relatively high in sugar. However, what turned me around was common sense: Soil in the last 100 years has been losing its nutrition at a steady rate, for some vitamins up to 80%! Aboriginal people didn’t used to each much, but even for the little they were eating, they were getting more nutrition than we do today (even on a Paleo or vegan diets).

chart_mineralssoil

So the only way to get enough nutrients through normal food and not pills, and to not eat ungodly amounts of food, is to juice. Sure, they have some sugar in them, but sugar be damn. The amount of nutrition you get from juices, should be able to fight off whatever negative effects fructose can bring.

Given the bad state of my liver (as I write this, I’m still doing tests to find out what’s wrong, on top of the non-alcoholic fatty liver that I already have), I’ve decided to have breakfast and lunches made of 3-4 veggie juices (not much fruit in them), three times a week. Dinner would consist from solid food, that also includes the discarded fiber of the juice (e.g. as in vegan bean “sausages” or bunless bean “burgers”). Traditionally, in the Greek Orthodox religion, most women would fast Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Fasting in their context meant going regular vegan, but in my case, I’d be going liquid raw vegan. This should give some time to my liver to recover.

juice feast

So I made my first veggie juice today, as seen above: kale, swiss chard and mint from my own garden, a carrot, broccoli stems, celery, a small zucchini, and an apple. It was surprisingly good!

Eventually, I hope to go on a 3-day juice fast (or “juice feast” as raw vegan evangelist John Rose calls it).

